Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Six women in Congress’ list

Six women in Congress’ list

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  29 Jan 2018 12:00 AM GMT


SHILLONG, Jan 28: Even though the Congress has denied ticket to a sitting woman legislator, however, it allotted party tickets to six other women in the list declared on January 27. It may be mentioned that Chokpot legislator Bluebell R. Sangma was denied the Congress ticket and in her place the Congress has fielded Lazarus Sangma as their candidate. Bluebell was elected after a bye-election was held on June 27, 2015 in the aftermath of the demise of GNC leader Clifford R. Marak. Out of the six, there are three sitting legislators. The six Congress women candidates are: PWD (buildings) Minister Ampareen Lyngdoh (East Shillong), School Education Minister Deborah C Marak (Williamgar), Chief Minister’s wife Dikkanchi D Shira (Mahendraganj), Sadhiarani Sangma (Gambegre) the wife of Youth and Sports Affairs Minister Zenith M Sangma, Eureka F.P. Lyngdoh (Mairang) and Wanjop Susngi (Raliang). Incidentally, Sadhiarani who is a Member of the Garo Hill Autonomous District Council is its first woman chairperson.

Next Story