Home » SPORTS NEWS » Sprinter Hima Das wins her third gold in less than two weeks at Kladno in Czech Republic

Sprinter Hima Das wins her third gold in less than two weeks at Kladno in Czech Republic

Hima Das
File photo


New Delhi: Ace Sprinter Hima Das won the women’s 200 m event for the third international victory in less than two weeks at the Kladno Memorial Athletics Meet at Kladno, Czech Republic on Saturday.

As per reports, sprinter Hima Das won the gold medal at 23.43 seconds. It is to be noted that her career-best record was 23.10 seconds in 200 m.

It is to be noted that Hima Das bagged her second international gold inside a week after she won the women’s 200m race at the Kutno Athletics Meet in Poland last Sunday.

Braving a sore back, the sprinter from Assam clocked 23.97 seconds to win the gold while Kerala runner V.K. Vismaya grabbed silver with a timing of 24.06 seconds.

National record holder Muhammed Anas also won gold in the men’s 200m race with a timing of 21.18 seconds.

On July 4, Hima had clocked 23.65 seconds to bag the gold in her first competitive 200m race of the year at the Poznan Athletics Grand Prix, also in Poland. Vismaya had finished third in that race with a personal best time of 23.75 seconds.

World junior champion Hima has a personal best of 23.10 seconds, which she clocked last year.

Furthermore, the Indian trio of Vipin Kasana, Abhishek Singh and Davinder Singh Kang took the top three spots in men’s javelin final with efforts 82.51 m, 77.32 m and 76.58 m respectively at Kladno.

Also, in men shot put event, national record holder Tejinder Pal Singh Toor managed a creditable best throw of 20.36 m to win the bronze. He holds the national record of 20.75 m.

In women’s 400 m race, VK Vismaya won the race at 52.37 seconds and Saritaben was third with 53.37.

On the other hand, in the XXII International Memorial Competition in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan, Indians also bagged 6 gold medals, 3 silver medals and one bronze. Also, national record holder M Sreeshankar won the long jump with creditable 7.97 m.

The other winners were Archana in 100 m, Harsh Kumar in 400 m, Lili Das in 1500 m, Sahil Silwal in Javelin.

Also Read: Hima Das Sprints To Second Gold Inside A Week