State BJP forms new team for 2019 polls

All the meetings focused on the approach to be adopted in the 2019 polls

Guwahati, June 10: With the Parlimentary polls less than a year away, the ruling BJP has already undertaken spadework to face challenges that may be posed by the opposition. As a part of the process, on Sunday the Assam State unit of the BJP has constituted a new team with eyes set on the 2019 Lok Sabha. It is a 13-member team comprising of the State BJP president Ranjit Kr Dass, Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, national secretary MP Ramen Deka, Minister of State for Railway Rajen Gohain, Minister and NEDA convenor Himanta Biswa Sarma, Minister Parimal Suklavaidya, Minister Siddhartha Bhattacharjya, MP Bijoys Chakravorty, organization general secretary Phnindra Nath Sarma, MP Kamakhya Ptasad Tasa, State party general secretaries Dilip Saikia, Pulok Gohain and Mriganka Barman.

Prior to the formation of the 13-member committee, an office bearers’ meeting was held at the BJP state Head Quarters which was followed by a meeting chaired by the in-charge of ‘bistaraks’.

Again in the evening, a meeting of the core committee of the party was held at the official residence of the CM. Significantly, all the meetings primarily focused on the approach to be adopted in the 2019 polls and the present political scenario of the state.