State level monitoring committee constituted

Shillong, May 10: To ensure free and fair conduct of the upcoming Bye-election to 53-Ampati (ST) Assembly Constituency, 2018, the State Level Monitoring Committee has been constituted with the Chief Electoral Officer, Meghalaya as its Chairman. The members include the Additional Chief Electoral Officer, Meghalaya, Expenditure Observer (to be nominated by CEO), Director, IPR, Meghalaya, Deputy Director of Field Publicity, Shillong and Shri. W Raphael Warjri, media representative with the Joint Chief Electoral Officer as Member Secretary. The functions of the Committee is to decide on appeals against orders of the MCMC headed by the Additional CEO/District Election Officer on Certification of Advertisement as per ECI’s instructions, examine all cases of paid news, a release stated.