Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Tezpur College to celebrate golden jubilee with three-day programme

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  26 July 2015 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

TEZPUR, July 25: Tezpur College will celebrate its golden jubilee function on August 5. The college which has been playing a pivotal role in the field of intellectual development of the district will mark its celebration with a three-day programme from August 5 to August 7 covering various agendas and for this preparation is almost complete.

For the successful celebration of the golden jubilee programme, a reception committee has been formed with Sailoja Kumar Padmapaoti as president and Dr. Saru Saharia th as chief secretary. Outlining the three-day long programme, Dr. Saru Saharia th stated that Sailoja Kumar Padmapaoti will begin the mega event of the academic institute by unfurling the flag of the programme and it will be followed by unfurling of a total of 50 flags by fifty prominent persolities from different fields of the society to mark the completion of 50 years of the college.

Homage to the martyrs will be paid by retired Principal of the college, Asola Bora and among other dignitaries it will be attended by Tulan Chandra Bora. For keeping alive the memory of noted educationist and former Principal of the college, Chandra Mahan Medhi, a bust is under construction under the initiative of the alumni of the college by artist Biren Sinha and it will be formally unveiled during the three-day programme. It will be followed by a cultural procession.

Dignitaries who are expected to take part in the three-day golden jubilee celebration are Union Minister Sarbanda Sonowal, local MP Ram Prashad Sharma, Dibrugarh University Vice-Chancellore Dr. Alak Buraguhain and AASU chief advisor Dr. Samujjal Kumar Bhattacharya.

There will also be a symposium on the topic ‘Higher education in India and Rastrya Ucchatar Siksha Abhijan’. This event will be iugurated by Joint Secretary, NERO, UGC, Dr. Mohammad Arif, and will be graced by Dr. Ashok Kr. Borah, GU, Deputy Secretary and examition, Assam Higher Secondary Education Council. The open session to be presided over by Sailaja Kumar Padmapoti and it will be attended by State Education Minister Sarat Barkataki, Tezpur University Vice-Chancellor Dr. Mihir Kanti Chaudhury, KKHSOU Vice-Chancellore Dr. Hitesh Deka, Additiol Chief Secretary and Principal Secretary to the Chief minister, Government of Assam, MGVK Bhanu, DGP, Khagen Sharma, Director, Higher Education, Government of Assam, Axam Xahitya Xabha president Dr. Dhrubajyoti Bora among others. There will also be a cultural evening held in memory of Chandra Mohan Medhi which will be iugurated by chairman of Jyoti Chitraban, Nipon Goswami, and artiste Dr. Mousumi Sahari will take part in the event as guest artiste.

Next Story