Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Tezpur University team wins debate competion

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  29 April 2015 12:00 AM GMT

GUWAHATI, April 28: Tezpur University emerged as the best team in a State-level prize-money debate competition held at BH College, Howly recently in memory of late Dr Surendra th Das, former Health Minister of Assam and one of the founders of BH College, stated a press statement.

The topic of the debate was ‘In the opinion of the house – the present free trade policy is a boon for Indian economy’. Gauhati Commerce College won the second best team award.

At the individual level, Jyotisha Saikia of Tezpur University won the first prize of Rs 15,000 in cash, while the second prize of Rs 10,000 was bagged by Bhanu Poudel from Hojai College. The third prize of Rs 5,000 went to Kalyani Kaushik of Tezpur University, while two special jury awards were bagged by Jintu Gohain from Gauhati University and Dipjyoti Kalita from Royal Group of Institutes.

Altogether 36 participants from 19 universities and colleges took part in the competition which was iugurated by Hrishikesh Goswami, secretary, Children Literary Trust, Assam, and currently president, BH College governing body, said the release.

Next Story