Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Thaneswar th Award conferred on progressive farmer Chandra Kanta Gogoi

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  28 July 2015 12:00 AM GMT


GAURISAGAR, July 27 : Krishak Nyas, a leading NGO of Sivasagar district has been conferring Sivasagar district level best farmers award since 2010 every two years in memory of its founder cashier Thaneswar th with a view to inspire the progressive farmers who intend to take up scientific farming.

The award for 2013-14 and 2014-15 were given on Monday at a function held at Sivasagar District Agriculture office conference hall (Krishak Bhawan). The meeting was chaired by Debeswar Panging, Assistant Director, District Agriculture Office, Sivasagar. Dr Chandan Hazarika, Director, Post Graduate Studies, Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat graced the meeting as a distinguish guest. In his speech Dr Hazarika compared the present and past agricultural system and opined that farmers were devoting the profitable crops and urged the farmers to give importance to multiple cropping.

In the function progressive fish farmer, and recipient of Thaneswar th Award, Chandra Kanta Gogoi, Dijumoni Saikia, SDAO, Sivasagar, Ram Chandra Thowsen, Fishery Extension Officer, Sivasagar, Dharmeswar Gogoi, secretary, Sivasagar Zila Pather Parichala Samiti, Ri Devi, wife of Thaneswar th and Bhuban Hazarika, secretary of AGUS were present. Dr.Arun Changkakoti, president, Krishak Nyas iugurated the programme by lighting an earthen lamp before the portrait of Thaneswar th.

Receiving the award, Chandra Kanta Gogoi, a progressive farmer of Charing Soribari under Gaurisagar Development Block lauded the effort of Krishak Nyas for boosting various schemes of agriculture development among the rural masses. The award carries a trophy, a replica, a citation and cash Rs5000.

Amguri MLA Anjan Dutta has been providing the cash amount since last year. In the meeting Krishak Nyas expressed their sincere thanks and gratitude to Anjan Dutta. Earlier Himadri Jyoti Dutta explained the objective and gave a brief note about the achievement of Chandra Kanta Gogoi. Before starting the meeting, one minute silence was observed for the eterl peace of Bijoy Krisha Handique, former Union Minister and MP, Jorhat who passed away on Sunday.

Next Story