Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Three north–eastern states to celebrate statehood day

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  21 Jan 2015 12:00 AM GMT

Agartala/Imphal, January 20: Three north–eastern states – Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya – will celebrate their statehood day on Wednesday, officials said on Tuesday.

“On this day, the Manipur government organises various cultural programmes comprising music and dance as well as exhibitions. These events showcase the beauty and splendour of this state,” an official said in Imphal.

A Tripura government official said in Agartala : “Acting Tripura governor Padmabha Balakrish Acharya will iugurate a five–day programme here to celebrate the statehood day.”

An exhibition highlighting the development and achievements of Tripura since 1972 will also be iugurated in Agartala by the governor.

The statehood day celebrations in Meghalaya would involve a series of events across the State, including a motorbike show at Polo Grounds in Shillong, organised by the department of sports and youth Affairs.

The erstwhile princely states of Tripura and Manipur were merged with India in October 1949 and became full–fledged states Jan 21, 1972. IANS

Meghalaya was a part of Assam before becoming a full–fledged state under the North Eastern Region (Re–Organisation) Act, 1971. IANS

Next Story