Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Tiwa Autonomous Council formed

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  10 Oct 2015 12:00 AM GMT


MORIGAON, October 9: A 30-member Tiwa Autonomous Council (TAC) today formally took oath at an august programme held at the conference hall of the Council here amidst tight security.

North Assam Division Commissioner BR Samley administered the oath of office to the newly elected members of the council in the presence of Morigaon Deputy Commissioner Rakesh Kumar and ADC Pum Rao.

Leader of Tiwa Jatiya Aikya Mancha Rama Kanta Deori was sworn in as the Chief Executive Member (CEM) of the TAC for the second term. It may be mentioned that Tiwa Jatiya Aikya Mancha bagged 17 seats in the council polls.

Khagen Bordoloi was elected Chairman of the Council securing 16 votes. Khagen’s nearest rival Madan Bordoloi bagged 14 votes. The Deputy CEM’s post went to Muhan Sepati unopposed.

The standing committee also elected eight executive members of the council. The executive members who have been elected are Parimal Patar, Binonda Patar, Paban Manta, Dimbeswar Bordoloi, Jugal Patar, Manta Bordoloi, Bindawati Konwar and Binita Daimary.

Even though Congress emerged as the single largest party in the Tiwa Autonomous Council (TAC), the result of which was announced on August 23 last, the party could not formed the council. Out of 30 seats, Congress won 15. Independents secured 10 seats and BJP had to contend with three. The Asom Ga Parishad (AGP), however, maged to win two seats.

A total of 2,13,117 voters exercised their franchise across 30 constituencies spread over Morigaon and gaon districts in the TAC polls held on August 19. Elections were not held in six constituencies that fall under Kamrup (Metro) district due to resistance from different pressure groups.

Next Story