Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Tiwa council EMs level corruption charges against CEM

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 Dec 2015 12:00 AM GMT


JAGIROAD, Dec 17: As many as 14 executive members of the Tiwa Autonomous Council (TAC) has leveled charges against Chief Executive Member (CEM) of the council, Rama Kanta Deuri that Deuri was involved in massive anomalies in releasing of funds to the beneficiaries.

Addressing a press conference here, the members alleged that the CEM has indulged in dirty politics by breaking every rules and regulations of the council.

“Deuri has used the fund for his persol work and has not released to the beneficiaries months after months,” they alleged.

The members further said that Deuri has not released the fund of sanctioned against the Tiwa language teachers.

As a result the aggrieved teachers have moved Gauhati High Court against the council.

They also alleged that CEM Deuri has not released the fund among the beneficiaries which was sanctioned in 2012-13 fiscal defying the Supreme Court’s directive.

It may be mentioned that the Tiwa Oikya Mancha, with the help of the BJP and the AGP, in October 9 formed the Tiwa Autonomous Council, which has jurisdiction over gaon, Morigaon and parts of Kamrup (metro) districts.

The council poll results declared on August 22 had seen the Congress emerge as the single largest party, winning 15 of the 30 seats that went to the polls. The ruling party won seven of the 19 seats in Morigaon and eight of the 11 in gaon. The Tiwa Oikya Mancha, led by Rama Kanta Deuri, won 10 seats. While the BJP won three, the AGP grabbed two seats.

Three elected Congress members from Raha Assembly constituency in gaon district, who were close to dissident Congress MLA Pijush Hazarika, later left the ruling party and joined the BJP. Three victorious Congress members of the council left the party soon after former Congress strongman Himanta Biswa Sarma joined the BJP in August.

The strength of the non-Congress alliance became 18 as the two AGP and six BJP members supported the Mancha. Since the elections were held for 30 seats, the required number to form the council was 16.

As Dispur did not fix the date for forming the council even four weeks after the election results were declared, 13 elected members moved Gauhati High Court against “Dispur’s mysterious reluctance” to form the council. The court later asked Dispur to fix the date on October 9.

Deuri was selected the new chief executive member of the council. General body meeting selected senior Oikya Mancha leader Khagen Bordoloi as the chairman of the council. Deuri, 52, who was the chief executive member of the Congress-led council till 2014, later floated the Mancha.

Next Story