Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Top hockey teams for Bengaluru Cup

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  15 Sep 2015 12:00 AM GMT

Bengaluru, Sep 14 : Hockey Kartaka’s second Bengaluru Cup All-India tourment will be held from October 10 to 19, it was announced here on Monday with former India cricket captain Rahul Dravid and swimmer Nisha Millet gracing the occasion.

The tourment will feature six teams from across India in both the men’s and women’s categories.

The teams include Air India, Indian Oil Corporation Ltd, Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd, Army XI, Kartaka XI and ONGC in the men’s section, and Punjab XI, Harya XI, Kartaka XI, Jharkhand, MP Academy and RCF in the women’s category.

The highlight of The Bengaluru Cup 2015 will be the presence and participation of players from the tiol women’s team which has qualified for the Rio 2016 Olympics.

Speaking on the occasion, Hockey Kartaka joint secretary Sandeep Somesh said: “With this tourment, we endeavour at amplify awareness and assist the development of the sport of hockey at the grass root level and bring back the vigour, valour and pride that was once associated with the tiol game.

“With the help of Hockey Kartaka, we look at unearthing and honing promising talent from the state. We intend to pave a way for the growth of the game in the country and showcase the best hockey talent from across India.”

Dravid said: “Hockey Kartaka offers young hockey players a fantastic opportunity by giving them a chance to rub shoulders with some of the most prominent and established players in the country.

“Recalling pleasant memories from the days I played hockey on the field, it gives me immense pleasure to support the sport and a sense of pride to see tiol game thrive.”

Millet said: “This initiative by Hockey Kartaka helps create an intrigue and buzz among the masses about the sport. The Bengaluru Cup is a platform for hockey players in India to showcase their caliber. My best wishes and support to the tourment and we look forward to the event.” IANS

Next Story