Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Tough fight between Congrees , BJP in Tezpur, Rangapara, Dhekaijuli and Barchala

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  3 April 2016 12:00 AM GMT

From a Correspondent

TEZPUR, April 2: Though the Congress is trying to woo the voters in the four legislative assembly constituencies under Tezpur election district presenting a picture of development works executed during the last 15 years of their rule in the State, the BJP wave in 71-Dhekiajuli, 72 No- Barchala, 73 No- Tezpur and 74 No- Rangapra LACs is seen among the common voters.

Though some independent candidates along with candidates from other parties are also busy in their election campaigning, the main contest will be between the Congress and the AGP-BJP- BPF alliance candidates in these four LACs.

In 73-No Tezpur LAC, the main contest will be between AGP-BJP- BPF alliance candidate Brindaban Goswami and Congress candidate Hiranya Bhuyan, though there are eight other candidates. In this prestigious assembly segment, the AIUDF projected candidate Sukendra th will influence a major portion of Muslim voters which were earlier in the Congress camp. Poll alysts said that 83,000 Assamese voters are likely to vote in favour of Brindaban Goswami. Moreover, the Rajgarh, paam, Panchmile, Bhumuraguri and Dulabari areas are now under the capture of AIUDF, which was earlier under the capture of Congress and this aspect will help Brindaban Goswami’s election prospect. Moreover, as the Congress projected candidate Hiranya Bhuyan is a very new face in the LAC for which people are not accepting him, Brindaban Goswami has a good image among the common people due to which, according to alysts, he will easily sail through.

In 74 No- Rangapara LAC, the fight will be between the Congress candidate Bhimanda Tanti, BJP’s Pallav Lochan Das and the Independent candidate Abhijit Hazarika. Here in this constituency also though all the candidates are expediting their campaign till the last day of the election campaign with a high pitch to woo the voters, the BJP is in a good position. People here are mainly raising the question of development which could not be take place during the last three consecutive terms of Congress MLA Bhimanda Tanti. During this long stint, nothing was done in the Rangapara area in the me of development due to alleged rampant corruption by the Congress workers in nexus with MLA Bhimanda Tanti. So people opined that though there will be a triangular fight in this election, BJP candidate Pallav Lochan Das will gain as the voters of the Adivasi people-domited constituency are likely to vote in his favour.

At the same time, in Barchala LAC though Congress candidate Tanka Bahadur Rai, who has been domiting the constituency for the last 15 years, was in a forefront in the beginning, at present he is now facing a tough challenge from the BJP candidate Ganesh Kumar Limbu. Notable point is that there was a chaos among the BJP workers in the LAC following fielding of candidate from outside which the Congress took as an advantage. However, the severe anomalies in every work, besides giving priority to people only from the Nepali community in giving placement in different departments by the Congress candidate Tanka Bahadur Rai during his last 15 years of regime in the LAC, has seriously hurt the common people of the constituency. For this, people might elect the BJP candidate Ganesh Limbu for the greater interest of brining a change in the LAC.

Likewise, in 71 No- Dhekiajuli LAC, a triangular contest between the BJP candidate Ashok Singhal, Congress candidate Habul Chakrabarty and the Independent candidate Benudhar th is likely. In the beginning though people said that despite alleged corruption by the Congress candidate Habul Chakrabarty during his five years regime in the constituency, he was given a walkover by BJP which fielded an unfamiliar candidate in the constituency. But BJP candidate Ashok Singhal has campaigned in every corner of the constituency domited mostly by Bodos and Adivasi voters. This has made poll alysts opine that Ashok Singhal might win, with Habul Chakrabarty likely to come in the third position.

Next Story