Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Tripura all set to form new government

Tripura all set to form new government

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  9 March 2018 12:00 AM GMT

Prime Minister rendra Modi, Chief Ministers of several BJP ruled States, several Union Ministers and many other dignitaries are scheduled to attend the programme

From a correspondent

Agartala, March 8: Tripura is all set to witness a mega event on Friday as the first ever BJP ministry-led by Biplab Deb will swear in as the Chief Minister of Tripura in a star studded programme at Assam Rifles ground here at 12 noon, which will mark the end of the two and a half decade Left rule in the State.

Prime Minister rendra Modi, Chief Ministers of several BJP ruled States, several union ministers and many other dignitaries are scheduled to attend the programme. BJP president Amit Shah, general secretary Ram Madhab and some other senior BJP leaders have already arrived here to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

The BJP has already announced that Biplab Deb and Jishnu Debbarma, a tribal leader of BJP, will take oath as Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister on Friday. The State is entitled to have 12 ministers as per the size of the State Assembly. However, it is not clear how many ministers will take the oath tomorrow.

A fil decision on ministry formation will be taken tonight after a meeting of the State leaders with Amit Shah. He also will have a meeting with all the newly elected members of BJP and IPFT.

Himanta Biswa Sharma, fince minister of Assam and election in-charge for Tripura on Wednesday, also had a prelimiry discussion with the State BJP leaders. He also had a meeting with the IPFT president rendra Chandra Debbarma.

Debbarma said they had a cordial meeting but a fil decision will be taken by Amit Shah. However, Biswa Sarma assured him that the IPFT would have proper representation in the ministry.

BJP with their alliance partner Indigenous Peoples’ Front of Twipra (IPFT), a tribal based regiol party, won two third majority in the 60-member Tripura Assembly, election for which was held on February 18 and votes were counted on March 3. The BJP won 35 seats and the IPFT got 8 seats.

The BJP leaders are upbeat over the victory as it was their first direct encounter with the leftists in India.

Meanwhile, hectic activities are going on around Assam Rifles ground. According the officials, over one lakh people may arrive to witness the swearing-in ceremony. A giant screen has been put up in the Swami Vivekanda Stadium, so that people who will not be able to enter the Assam Rifles ground can witness the swearing-in ceremony.

The scheduled examition of the Tripura Board of Secondary Education has been deferred by a day so that the students don’t face any problem.

Next Story