Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

TU faculty honoured with Visitor's Award

TU faculty honoured  with Visitors Award

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  3 May 2018 12:00 AM GMT

A Correspondent

Tezpur, May 2: The President of India, Ram Nath Kovind on Wednesday presented the prestigious Visitor’s Award for Research in the field of Basic and Applied Science to Prof. Ashis Kumar Mukherjee, Department of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, Tezpur University in the meeting of vice-chancellors of central universities at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Prof. Sanjay K. Jain of Dr Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya, Sagar, Madhya Pradesh was also awarded with the honour. This award has been given to promote healthy competition amongst central universities and to motivate them to adopt best practices from around the world in pursuit of excellence.

Prof. Mukherjee was honored with the award for his research leading to clarity on the molecular complexity and toxicity of the components of the snake venom from different locales of India. He is among the few notable scientists who have been pursuing research in exceedingly specialized but neglected area of snake venom from the past 24 years.

Next Story