Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

TUJS turned INPT to celebrate golden jubilee

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  8 Jun 2017 12:00 AM GMT

From A Correspondent

Agartala, June 7: The first tribal based regiol political party of the state the Tripura Upajati Juba Samity which subsequently changed its nomenclature as Indigenous tiolist Party of Twipra is going to celebrate its golden jubilee.

Jagadish Debbarma, general secretary of the party said in a bid to commemorate the foundation of the party in 1967 a stone plaque will be unveiled in front of the party’s office at Khumulung, head quarter of the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council on June 11.

All the party leaders will assemble there on the occasion of unveiling the plaque and then they in a procession will go to the Nuai Auditorium where a semir on the past, present and future of the tribals will be organized.

The party also will felicitate all the members of its first executive committee and the Members of the Central Committee who are still alive. ‘The first president of the party Rabi Charan Debbarma is no more but the first general secretary Drao Kumar Reang is still alive. Though he has switched over to BJP we will invite him to remain present on this historic occasion’, said Jagadish Debbarma.

Bijoy Kumar Hrangkghawal, the present president of the party also was a member of the first executive committee of the TUJS. Debbarma said apart from this central program celebration of the golden jubilee will continue throughout the year in different parts of the state and at the same time the party will continue its agitation programs.

It may be recalled that the Tripura Upajati Juba Samity was first formed in the conference of the young tribal leaders at Kainta Kobra Para on June 10 and 11, 1967and it was the party to first raise the demand for extension of the 6th schedule of the constitution to Tripura which was origilly meant only for Assam.

So far, the TUJS is the only regiol political party in Tripura which shared power in the state government from 1988 to 1993 in coalition with Congress. The Tripura Upajati Juba Samity changed its nomenclature as the Indigenous tiolist Party of Twipra in 2002 when the Tribal tiol Volunteers, an insurgent outfit turned political party merged with it.

Next Story