Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Twelve teams to compete in All India and South Asia Rugby C’ship

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  17 Sep 2016 12:00 AM GMT

Kolkata Sep 16: Twelve teams from across the country will vie for top honours when the All India & South Asia Rugby Championship gets underway at the Calcutta Cricket and Football Club (CC&FC) grounds here from Saturday.

Organised by the Indian Rugby Football Union (IRFU) - also known as Rugby India - the governing body of the sport in the country, the week-long meet will see the three teams at the rear relegated to Division 2.

The tourment will be on a league-cum-knockout format. The fil of the men's event will be on September 24, while that of the women's meet will be one day earlier. There will be no intertiol teams. "Many Indian players will be playing for the twelve teams on show," Rugby India CEO seer Hussian told reporters. IANS

Next Story