Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

U Htin Kyaw is Myanmar's new president, Suu Kyi foreign minister

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  31 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT

y Pyi Taw, March 30: U Htin Kyaw of the tiol League for Democracy (NLD), led by Nobel Peace Prize winner Aung San Suu Kyi, was sworn in on Wednesday as Myanmar’s new president. Military-assigned First Vice President U Myint Swe and second vice president U Henry Van Thio of the NLD also took the oath of office in the presence of parliament Speaker U Mann Win Khaing Than, Xinhua reported.

The swearing-in of the president and the vice presidents was followed by that of a nine-member Constitutiol Tribul, led by U Myo Nyunt, a five-member Union Election Commission, led by U Hla Thein, and 18 cabinet ministers med by President U Htin Kyaw.

Among the ministers, six were from the ruling NLD, two from the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP), three were military members of parliament and seven were non-parliamentarian experts.

NLD chairperson Aung San Suu Kyi became the country’s new foreign minister, who will concurrently hold three other portfolios in the new government.

In addition to the foreign ministry post, the 70-year-old Suu Kyi will be the president’s office minister, education minister and minister of electricity and energy. President U Htin Kyaw delivered his first address to parliament before heading to the presidential palace for a ceremony of transfer of power from his predecessor U Thein Sein. (IANS)

Next Story