Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Udalguri administration gears up for BTC poll

Udalguri administration gears up for BTC poll

Sentinel Digital Desk


UDALGURI, March 22: With the BTC elections to be held on April 8 next, hectic political activities are being witnessed in entire Udalguri district. The Udalguri district administration has geared up for the smooth conduct of the polls in a peaceful atmosphere with adequate security measures. Sadha Hojai, the Deputy Commissioner and District Election Officer of Udalguri district revealed this in a press conference here on Friday last.

Addressing the press meet, Beer Bikram Gogoi, Superintendent of Police (SP) of Udalguri district informed that as per records, a total of 29 hypersensitive polling booths and 52 sensitive polling booths were identified by the district administration so far and 21 companies of security forces and other security agents would monitor the safe and smooth conduct of the elections in all the five constituencies under Udalguri Sadar subdivision.

He informed that out of 74 polling booths located under 36 Harisinga (ST) constituency, there are 13 sensitive and six hypersensitive polling booths while in 37 Dhansiri (ST), out of a total of 82 polling stations, five are identified as sensitive and four are hypersensitive and in 38 Bhairabkunda (ST), out of 88 polling booths, there are as many as 27 sensitive and 12 hypersensitive polling booths. In the same way, in 39 Pasnoi Serfang (non-ST), there are five sensitive and five hypersensitive polling booths out of a total of 79 and in 40 Rowta out of 85 polling booths there are two sensitive and two hypersensitive polling booths. Meanwhile, security measures have been beefed up and seven more companies have been sought in the Udalguri Sadar subdivision, he added.

It is to be noted that a total of 2,73,888 voters will decide the fate of contesting candidates in these five constituencies. Among the total voters, 1,32,861 are female voters. The voters break- up in the five constituencies under Udalguri Sadar subdivision is as follows :

36 Harisinga( ST) (total voters: 49,625) male 25,249, female 24,376 ; 37 Dhansiri (ST) (total voters: 57,522) male 29,655, female 29,867; 38 Bhairabkunda (ST) (total voters: 55,621) male 28,573, female 27,048; 39 Pasnoi Serfang (non-ST) (total voters: 58,235) male 27,761, female 28,266; 40 Rowta (ST) (total voters: 58,235) male 29,969, female 28,266.

Next Story