Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

UPP fails to break BPF bastion in Baksa

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  21 May 2016 12:00 AM GMT

LBARI, May 20: Bodoland People’s Front clean swept all three legislative constituencies, mely, 58-Tamulpur LAC, 62-Barama LAC and 63-Chapaguri LAC under Baksa election district. Sitting BPF MLA Emanuel Mushahary defeated his nearest rival Robin Bala Biswas of Congress by a margin of 19,947 votes in Tamulpur seat; sitting BPF MLA Maneswar Brahma defeated his nearest rival Independent candidate Rekharani Das Boro by a margin of 9,796 votes in Barama seat and former MLA Thaneswar Basumatary of BPF registered his win in Chapaguri LAC by defeating his nearest rival Independent candidate Sujan Das, supported by Jagosthiya Oikyamancha, by a margin of 1,416 votes. Emanuel Mushahary got 63,031 votes, Maneswar Brahma got 45,289 votes and Thaneswar Basumatary got 43,113 votes.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News