Visitor’s Award, 2017 to Prof Niranjan Karak of TU

From a Correspondent

Tezpur, Feb 12: In a prestigious recognition to Tezpur University, Professor Niranjan Karak of the Department of Chemical Sciences has been selected for the Visitor’s Award, 2017 along with Professor Shyam Sundar of Baras Hindu University in the ‘Research’ category. The award will be presented by the President of India at a ceremony to be held on March 6 at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi.  Joining Tezpur University in 1997 as a Lecturer, Professor Karak has been carrying out extensive research in the field of chemical sciences that has already been recognized with a number of awards such as Material Research Society of India Medal Award, 9th Polymer Foundation Award, 4th Dr. S.S. Deshpande tiol Award, Dr. J.N. Baruah Memorial Science Award, Dr. Arving Kumar Memorial Award and Chemical Society of India Bronze Medal, to me a few. With 184 research publications, five books, two patents filed, 10 research projects and three consultancy projects to his credit, Professor Karak is currently serving as Head of the Sophisticated and Alytical Instrumentation Centre in addition to his teaching and research responsibilities.  The award will carry a citation and a cash reward of Rs 1 lakh to each individual selected for the award. A three-minute video on Professor Karak’s research will also be shown during the award presentation ceremony.