Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP in Arunachal Pradesh inching towards forming the next government

BJP in Arunachal Pradesh inching towards forming the next government

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  24 May 2019 3:20 AM GMT

Assembly polls

Our Correspondent

Itanagar: The BJP in Arunachal Pradesh is moving ahead to form the next government with the saffron party clinching 20 seats out of 25 seats, results of which were declared till 9 pm on Thursday night while leading in 11 seats with a huge margin.

The saffron party also won three seats unopposed earlier which takes the total tally to 23.

The unopposed candidates of the party include Kento Jini from Along East constituency in West Siang district, Taba Tedir from Yachuli seat in Lower Subansiri district and Phurpa Tsering from Dirang seat in West Kameng district.

While the Opposition Congress bagged only 3 seats as of now out of the total 46 contested in the House of 60, the Janata Dal United, which made its maiden entry in the State’s electoral scene, won six seats as of now against 15, the party contested. Two Independent candidates also tasted success in the polls.

Newcomer Nakap Nalo of the BJP won from Nacho Assembly seat defeating former Home Minister Tanga Byaling of the Congress by 698 votes.

Former Chief Minister Nabam Tuki (Congress) retained his Sagalee seat while Health and Family Welfare Minister Al Libang were re-elected from Tuting-Yingkiong constituency for the third consecutive term defeating longest serving Chief Minister Gegong Apang.

In the Pasighat West constituency, former Lok Sabha MP Ninong Ering won defeating sitting MLA Tatung Jamoh by 571 votes.

Journalist-turned-politician Gabriel Denwang Wangsu of the BJP retained the Kanubari seat in Longding district by defeating Congress candidate Nokchai Boham by 4,236 votes.

Newcomer Kanggong Taku of the JDU won from Mariyang-Geku seat defeating Anong Perme, another newcomer from the BJP by 1,260 votes.

BJP candidate Kumsi Sidisow was re-elected from the Thrizino-Buragaon seat for the third time defeating Kalo Dususow of the Congress by 7,135 votes.

Geology and Mining Minister Kamlung Mossang (BJP) retained the Miao constituency for the fourth consecutive terms defeating Chatu Longai of the Congress by 3,856 votes.

The Congress retained the Borduria-Bogapani seat with its sitting MLA Wanglin Lowangdong wining from the seat by 97 votes defeating Jowang Hosai of the BJP.

In the Anini seat, BJP newcomer Mopi Mihu won by defeating his nearest rival Singe Milli of the Congress.

The Namsai seat was retained by the BJP for the second term with sitting MLA Chau Zingnu Namchoom winning against Mualiln Agan of the NPP by 13,392 votes.

In a major setback, Power Minister Tamiyo Taga of the BJP had to taste defeat at the hands of newcomer Talem Taboh of the JDU, while BJP candidate Tsering Tashi retained the Tawang seat for the second term defeating veteran Congress leader Thupten Tempa by 3,592 votes.

In another setback for the BJP, Assembly Speaker Tenzing Norbu Thongdok, who represented the Kalaktang constituency in West Kameng district for the last two consecutive terms, had to taste defeat in the hands of a newcomer – Dorjee Wangdi Kharma of the JDU by a margin of 1,726 votes.

Home Minister Kumar Waii representing Bameng seat in East Kameng district for last two terms, lost the seat to newcomer Goruk Pordung of the BJP.

Sitting BJP MLA from Liromoba constituency in West Siang district Nyamar Karbak won from the seat for the third time defeating his nearest rival Jarpum Gamlin of the National People’s Party (NPP) by a margin of 664 votes.

Education Minister Honchun Ngandam, who was seeking re-election from Pongchau-Wakka seat won from the constituency by defeating his nearest rival Thangkai of the Congress by a margin of 3,788 votes.

Sitting BJP MLA from Khonsa East seat Wanglam Sawin retained the seat by defeating his nearest rival Danhang Phuksa of the NPP by a margin of 1594 votes.

Gum Tayeng who represented Dambuk constituency in Lower Dibang Valley district, retained the seat by defeating her nearest rival Tony Pertin of the NPP by 873 votes.

Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein who, contested from the Chowkham constituency for the first time, won the seat by a margin of 7, 291 votes defeating his lone rival Khunang Kri of the Congress. The BJP retained the seat which was represented by Mein’s elder brother C T Mein earlier.

Newcomer Tana Hali Tara of the BJP won from Doimukh constituency defeating his nearest rival Nabam Vivek of the National People’s Party (NPP) by 2, 385 votes. BJP retained the seat as in 2014, Nabam Rebia of BJP had won from the seat.

In the prestigious Itanagar constituency, Janata Dal United candidate Techi Kaso won by a slender margin of 302 votes in a multi-cornered contest, defeating his nearest rival Kipa Babu of the BJP. Kaso retained the seat.

Sitting MLA from Lumla constituency in Tawang district was re-elected from the seat by defeating his lone rival Jampa Thirnly Kunkhap of the Congress by a margin of 1288 votes. The BJP retained the seat.

PHE Minister Wangki Lowang (BJP) retained the Namsang seat in a multi-cornered contest, by defeating his nearest rival Ngonglin Boi of the NPP by a margin of 1682 votes. While Lowang polled 3202 votes Boi could manage 1520 votes.

Sitting BJP MLA from Nari Koyu constituency Kento Rina retained the seat by defeating his nearest rival Tojir Kadu of the Congress by a margin of 216 votes in a triangular contest. The BJP retained the seat.In the

unreserved Bordumsa-Diyun seat in Changlang district, Independent candidate Somlung Mossang tasted victory by defeating his nearest rival Jawra Maio of the BJP by a margin of 2379 votes. Independent wrest the seat from NCP Nikh Kamin.

The other winners include, Dongru Siongju (JDU) from Bomdila constituency, Tirong Aboh (NPP) from Khonsa West, Kardo Nyigyor (PPA) from Likabali, P D Sona (BJP from Mechuka, Independent candidate Karikho Kri from Tezu, BJP nominee Balo Raja from Palin, JDU candidate Jikke Toko from Tali constituency.

Also read: Arunachal news

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News