Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP opens account in State; 3 candidates win uncontested

BJP opens account in State; 3 candidates win uncontested

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  29 March 2019 3:29 AM GMT

Our Correspondent

Itanagar: The BJP in Arunachal Pradesh has opened its account with three candidates being declared unopposed in the 60-member Assembly, after the final date of withdrawal of candidature on Thursday. The State is going to simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly polls on April 11.

While BJP nominee Kento Jini won from Aalo East Assembly constituency after the nomination papers of his lone rival Minkir Lollen of the Congress was found invalid during scrutiny on Tuesday, another BJP candidate was elected unopposed from the Yachuli seat. The BJP candidate from Dirang seat Phurpa Tsering too was elected unopposed after Congress nominee Tsering Gyurme and Independent candidate Gombu Tsering withdrew their papers on Thursday, Additional Chief Electoral Officer Kangki Darang told reporters here.

With the withdrawal of nominations by 20 candidates till Thursday, a total of 191 candidates remained in the fray to contest in the 57 Assembly constituencies of the State.

The ruling BJP has now 57 candidates while Opposition Congress would contest in 47 seats, National People’s Party (NPP) would contest in 30 constituencies, Janata Dal Secular (13), Janata Dal United (17) and the All India Party (AIP) has fielded a single candidate.

There are also 17 independents in the fray to contest in the Assembly polls.

Altogether 10 female candidates are also in the fray for the Assembly polls with Congress fielding the highest number of four, followed by BJP in three constituencies, including one each by JDU and Peoples’ Party of Arunachal (PPA) and a lone Independent, Darang disclosed.

The unreserved seat Bordumsa-Diyun has the highest record of 10 candidates locking horns to win the battle of ballots.

A total of 12 candidates including one female are in the fray for the two Lok Sabha seats in the State. In the Western Parliamentary seat, there are seven candidates while in the Eastern seat, there are a total of five candidates.

Also read: Arunachal news

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News