Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

National Peoples’ Party releases first list of candidates

National Peoples’ Party releases first list of candidates

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  21 March 2019 4:12 AM GMT

Our Correspondent

Itanagar: The National Peoples’ Party (NPP) on Wednesday declared its first list of 29 candidates for the Assembly election in Arunachal Pradesh.

The party led by Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma is contesting election for the first time in the Himalayan State. Arunachal Pradesh is going for simultaneous Lok Sabha and Assembly polls on April 11.

The party has fielded two sitting ministers including Home Minister Kumar Waii and Tourism Minister Jarkar Gamlin from Bameng and Aalo (East) Assembly constituencies respectively. Both the ministers were denied BJP tickets this time.

BJP MLAs who were also denied tickets including Tapuk Taku (Seppa-East), Pani Taram (Koloriang), Thangwang Wangham (Longding-Pumao) and Paknga Bage (Dumporijo), also figured in the NPP list. All the four MLAs will contest from the constituencies they represented.

The names of sitting NPP MLAs including Mutchu Mithi (Roing), Nikh Kamin (Bordumsa-Diyun), and Tirong Aboh from Khonsa-West seat also figured in the list.

Former BJP general secretary Jarpum Gamlin, who was strong contender from Liromoba seat under the party’s ticket, has also been fielded by the NPP from the constituency.

Former minister Tsering Gyurme would contest from Dirang Assembly seat under the party ticket.

The party also fielded 17 newcomers including Nikh Khopi (Lekang), Tony Pertin (Dambuk), Danhang Phuksa (Khonsa-East), Tahang Taggyu ((Rumgong), Jampa Thrinley Kunkhap (Lumla), Shoney Pertin (Mebo), Gokar Basar (Basar), Karto Kaye (Nari-Koyu), Tarh Hari (Sagalee), Taring Dakpe (Raga), Rudham Sindhu (Taliha), Porchu Tamin (Daporijo), Aju Khonjuju (Bomdila), Tori Ragyor (Mechuka), Malin Angam (Namsai), Iken Tao (Likabali), Tawang Lowang (Namsang) and Khawang Rangsu from Borduria-Bogapani seat. Party vice president Nima Sange Saling informed that the party would declare its second list of candidates including for the Lok Sabha seats on Thursday.

Also read: Arunachal news

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News