Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Ninong Ering: Autonomous Council Status for Tirap, Changlang and Longding

Ninong Ering: Autonomous Council Status for Tirap, Changlang and Longding

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  8 Aug 2018 5:55 AM GMT


ITANAGAR: Lok Sabha MP from Arunachal Pradesh Ninong Ering has pleaded the Centre for granting autonomous council status to the three eastern districts of the State - Tirap, Changlang and Longding under the 6th Schedule of the Constitution.

“I would like to bring to the notice of Minister of Home Affairs on issue of Tribal Autonomous Council in the districts of Arunachal Pradesh namely Tirap, Changlang and Longding on the line of Sixth Schedule,” the Congress MP from Arunachal East Parliamentary Constituency said while raising the issue during the ‘zero hour’ discussion in the Lower House of the Parliament on Tuesday.

“If given, this will result in better administration of the State and bring the required autonomy and decentralisation of decision making processes. It will also take into consideration the needs of tribal people from these three districts and enable socio-economic changes,” he observed.

During the debate, the MP also urged that the ongoing Naga talks should not infringe the territorial integrity of his state, a press release informed on Tuesday.

“As the content of Naga accord framework signed with the Centre on August 3, 2015 remains unknown, I also request the Government to respect the territorial integrity of State of Arunachal Pradesh and any decision on the issue must be made with the consent of the State.” Further noting that the inclusion of tribes’ names in the list of scheduled tribes was a critical issue, the MP said, tribes namely Yobin, Nocte, Tutsa, Tangsa and Wanchoo must be included in the list of scheduled tribes (ST) of Arunachal Pradesh, the release added.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News