Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Techi Doria becomes first Arunachalee to score century in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Techi Doria becomes first Arunachalee to score century in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  22 Sep 2018 2:40 AM GMT

VADODARA: Techi Doria scored 122 as Arunachal beat Sikkim by 49 runs in there second match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy played here today at Motibaug Cricket Ground. He became the first Arunachalee to score century in Vijay Hazare Trophy.

After winning the toss sikkim captain Nilesh Lamichaney invited Arunachal to bat first. Techi Doria struck 122 in 149 balls including 154-run opening stand with Samarth Seth who added 89 in 64 balls as Arunachal Pradesh managed 306/4 in allotted 50 overs.

Utsav Madan, Song Tacho, Kamsha Yangfo and Momar Ori scored 26, 22, 18 and 9 runs respectively for the winning team.

In reply Sikkim batsman started cautiously however, they could manage to score only 257/7 in 50 overs.

Nilesh Lamichaney, Faizan Khan, L Y Lepcha and A Thapa scored 123, 47, 22 and 20 respectively. A Sahani and Techi Neri claimed two wickets each.

Arunachal Cricket Association president and former chief minister Nabam Tuki in his message he said, “My heartiest congratulations to Arunachal team as the team win their second match consecutively.”

ACA Secretary Tado Kholi and Joint secretary Kabak Geda also congratulated the team members and the support staff.

Kholi also congratulated Techi Doria for his extraordinary performance in the match and wished him success in his life.

He also thanked the former Indian player and Arunachal coach Gursharan Singh, strength and conditioning coach Rashid Zirak , physio Rudra Mejiyata and manager L Garga for their support to the team.

Arunachal will play their next match on September 23 against Manipur at Anand.

Meanwhile Arunachal U-19 team left today for Odissa to participate in the Vinoo Mankad Trophy.

The team members are Darge Bagra, Toko Techir, Neelam Josaph, Tsering Thapkey , Bamang Chungya, Vishek Kumar, Varun Singhal, Shivam Singh, Shubham Patel, Hardik Yadav, Gobin Mittal, Tadar Thomas, Yorjum Sera ,Abhi Pratap Singh and Md Bilal Gaji.

Techi Tagar and R Ananth are the manager and coach of the team.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News