Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

10th National Voters’ Day: Focus laid on robust electoral literacy

10th National Voters’ Day: Focus laid on robust electoral literacy

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  26 Jan 2020 4:55 AM GMT


LAKHIMPUR: The 10th National Voters’ Day was celebrated in all four Legislative Assembly Constituencies of Lakhimpur district on Saturday along with the rest of the nation.

Notably, the National Voters’ Day (NVD) has been celebrated on January 25 every year since 2011 all across the country to mark the foundation day of the Election Commission of India, which was established on January 25, 1950. The main purpose of the celebration is to encourage, facilitate and maximize the enrolment, especially for the new voters, and to spread awareness among voters for promoting informed participation in the electoral process. New voters are felicitated and handed over their Elector Photo Identity Cards in the functions organized on the occasion of the event.

The theme for National Voters’ Day, 2020 is ‘Electoral Literacy for Stronger Democracy’. The theme sets the tone for year-long activities that focus on voter education and renewal of citizens’ faith in the electoral process.

The central programme of the event in Lakhimpur district was organized at the office of the District Election Officer. The awareness meeting organized on the occasion commenced with ADC Bipul Kumar Das in the chair. It began with a Borgeet. Professor of Lakhimpur Kendriya Mahavidyalaya, Durgeswar Hazarika graced the occasion as the guest of honour. He highlighted the significance of the day and laid stress on the theme. In the same programme, Elector Photo Identity Card was distributed among several fresh voters of the district.

In connection with the event, an awareness rally also taken out in North Lakhimpur town. Assistant Commissioner Debashish Goswami inaugurated the rally wherein the booth-level officers and the students of various schools and colleges took part.

Tezpur: A programme to mark the 10th National Voters’ Day was organized in Sonitpur district on Saturday at a public meeting held at Court Chariali, Tezpur.

Deputy Commissioner Manvendra Pratap Singh addressed the public gathered on the importance of a well-informed electorate in a democracy by creating awareness about people’s voting rights in order to increase voter turnout and participation. The Deputy Commissioner also administered the National Voters’ Day pledge on the occasion.

The theme for this year’s National Voters’ Day is ‘Electoral Literacy for Stronger Democracy’.

Altogether 11 Booth Level Officers (BLOs) were felicitated on the occasion for their outstanding contribution. The day was also marked by a signature campaign and a street play which was staged at Court Chariali with the aim to create awareness among the young voters of the district about the need to take part in the electoral process of the country.

DDC Farouk Alam, CEO, Zilla Parishad Diganta Baishya, Additional DC Rohan Jha, District Election Officer Subhram Aditya Bora, and other senior district administration officials were present on the occasion. The day was also observed in various parts of the district with varied programmes. (A Correspondent)

JORHAT: Along with the rest of the country, in Jorhat to the 10th National Voters’ Day was observed under the initiative of the Election Commission of India. It was organized by Jorhat Election Office with the theme ‘Proud to be a Voter and Ready to Vote’. The programme, supported by Jorhat Police and various other departments, was held at the Pitambor Dev Goswami auditorium on Saturday.

Jayanta Goswami, Additional Deputy Commissioner of Jorhat, who attended as the chief guest, called upon the village-level workers to find out the exact number of newly-enrolled voters who would exercise their franchise in the upcoming election. Meetings were also held under various polling stations in Dergaon LAC, Jorhat LAC, Titabor LAC, Mariani LAC, Teok LAC, and Majuli LAC, informed Subham Gowala, Election Officer of Jorhat. (A Correspondent)

Hailakandi: The National Voters Day was celebrated to promote people’s participation in elections by encouraging and felicitating young voters and to increase voter enrollment in the Hailakandi district.

Speaking at a meeting organized at the Women’s College auditorium here on Saturday, Additional Deputy Commissioner RK Dam urged the new voters who have enrolled themselves in the electoral rolls to cast their votes in the elections to elect the right representatives and to strengthen the democratic edifice of the country. Dam appealed to those who did not enroll this time to do next time to ensure no voter is left behind.

SDO, Katlicherra, James Aind urged the new voters to exercise their franchise without fear or favour to elect the right representatives who can fulfill their hopes and aspirations. He said the youth must assert their greatest democratic right to make the foundation of the country strong and powerful. Senior citizens Ashok Dutta Gupta, Sandipan Paul, Nalini Kanta Das, Kanan Chakrabarty, Rezak Ali Laskar, Subrata Sarma Mazumder, Manab Chakraborty, Adir Nath, Sudarshan Bhattacharjee, and others spoke on the occasion. The senior citizens were also felicitated by booth level officers.

Circle Officer, Hailakandi, Tridip Roy and Election Officer, Sari L Lungtau were also present.

Five numbers of first-time voters each from three Legislative Assembly constituencies were felicitated and given certificates by the senior officials and prominent citizens. Earlier, the electoral pledge was administered by ADC, Dam on the occasion.

Also Read: National Voters Day celebrated

Also Watch: AASU Activists waved Black Flag at Assam Minister Pijush Hazarika’s Convoy

Next Story