Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

4 BPF candidates including Hagrama Mohilary file papers for BTC polls in Kokrajhar

4 BPF candidates including Hagrama Mohilary file papers for BTC polls in Kokrajhar

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  17 March 2020 5:31 AM GMT

Our Correspondent

KOKRAJHAR: Four BPF candidates, including the chief of BTC and president of the BPF Hagrama Mohilary, filed their nomination papers before the Assistant Returning Officers and District Election Officer, Kokrajhar on Monday, accompanied by Minister of Social Welfare and Soil Conservation, Government of Assam, Pramila Rani Brahma and thousands of supporters.

Mohilary filed his nomination papers before the District Election Officer, Kokrajhar for Debargaon ST constituency. He was accompanied by minister Pramila Rani Brahma. Meanwhile, Doneswar Goyary filed nomination for Baokhungri ST constituency, Derhasat Basumatary for Salakati ST constituency and Rajib Brahma for Banargaon ST constituency. Despite fear of COVID-19 spread, thousands of supporters joined the march to submit nomination papers with the candidates shouting slogans.

Talking to reporters after submitting nomination papers, the president of the BPF and candidate from Debargaon constituency, Hagrama Mohilary said there was no other force to defeat BPF this time too and his party would come back to power. He said his party would win at least 25-30 seats in the forthcoming BTC election as they had support from BJP and AGP.

When asked about who would be the probable main opponent, Mohilary said that the contest could be between BPF and UPPL candidates as the latter had been backed and supported by the ABSU. He said people would vote for the BPF candidates as it was the only party that had been working for the development of all communities giving equal rights and privileges and their return to power was imminent.

Rajib Brahma, another candidate who is also the sitting EM of BTC, said he had not seen a probable contender in his constituency. Sitting BTC EM Doneswar Goyary also expressed confidence of winning with majority.

Sources said that no candidate submitted nomination papers in Gossaigaon subdivision of Kokrajhar.

Also Read: Hagrama Mohilary promises schemes of inclusive growth and development in Tangla

Also Watch: East Siang District Administration in Arunachal Pradesh cautious over corona virus

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News