Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

AASU-AJYCP form committee to "protect" Assam's future, name Nagen Saikia & Arup Kumar Dutta as advisers

The AASU and AJYCP have been separately making public statements about forming new political parties since the movement against the contentious CAA


Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  19 Aug 2020 11:08 AM GMT

Guwahati: Taking one more step towards contesting the upcoming Assam assembly polls, the All Assam Students' Union and the Asom Yuva Chatra Parishad(AJYCP) have jointly formed an 'advisory committee' with eminent litterateur and former Rajya Sabha member Nagen Saikia, and Padma Shree awardee and writer-journalist Arup Kumar Dutta as its advisers.

The student bodies in a joint press statement alleged that the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) had lost its regional characteristics despite the fact that the latter was born out of the six-year-long Assam Agitation.

"We have to do something for the indigenous people of the state. The national political parties always betray Assam. The AGP lost its regional characteristics in 2016," the student bodies said in a statement.

The leaders of the student unions at a presser in Guwahati today announced that the 18-member committee will fix the academic, social, economical and political discourse in order to protect the future of the indigenous people of the state.

While it is generally being felt that that the formation of this committee is the first step in the AASU-led unit, the apex student body's leaders have maintained ambiguity on that front.

"The decision on whether these indigenous forces shall contest the Assam Assembly polls or not will be taken the advisers of the committee, who are very senior and prominent persons of the state. Whether we will contest the polls is very much still up in the air. The Assamese people have been betrayed time and again and the committee shall seek to redress those wrongs perpetuated by both the Central and State Governments", Dipanka Nath, AASU President, told The Sentinel Digital.

Nath also said that the advisers of the committee shall call meetings wherein steps that can be taken to protect the rights of the Assamese people shall be discussed.

The members of the committee are as follows:


Nagen Saikia

Arup Kumar Dutta


Ranjit Shekhar Musahary

Jahnu Baruah

Dhiren Saikia- Member

Krishna Gopal Bhattacharya

Basanta Deka

Ali Hydar Laskar

Rana Changmai


Abu Sahid Rafikuddin Ahmed

Sanjay Kumar Tati

Prithiraj Rabha

Surjya Thousen

Hussain Ahmed Laskar

Pranab Jyoti Saikia

Pradip Koch


LurinJyoti Gogoi

Palash Changmai

Also Watch: Get Set Global: Assamese in UK coping with the Pandemic

Next Story