Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

AASU announces 'Gana Hoonkar' against CAA on Dec 12

Gana Hoonkar against CAA will be observed in all the districts of Assam. It will be observed by the beating of the drums, sankha, taal, dhol

AASU announces ‘Gana Hoonkar’ against CAA on Dec 12

Representational Image

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  8 Dec 2020 1:37 PM GMT

Guwahati: The All Assam Students' Union (AASU) along with 30 other organisations have called for 'Gana Hoonkar' against Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) on December 12. Keeping alive their fight against the CAA, the students' union and other organisations will demand justice for the five martyrs during the anti-CAA protests held across the state and the country last year.

Last year, on December 11, AASU in their press statement said that the Centre has passed the Citizenship Amendment Act in the Parliament. From December 12 onwards, the people across the state, as well as our country, protested against the CAA. Five individuals, including a school student, lost their lives during the protest. This was one of the worst violent protests witnessed by the state of Assam.

The students' body has been protesting since then, demanding justice for innocent lives.

The Gana Hoonkar will be observed in all the districts of the state. Drums, Sankha, Taal, Dhol will be played seeking justice for the martyrs' of anti-CAA protests, and also to withdraw the CAA.

Various public property including post offices, bus terminals, and others were damaged during the anti-CAA protests. Indefinite curfew was imposed in the state too.

Among the five martyrs', Sam Stafford, a 17-year-old boy was the youngest of all. He succumbed to bullet injury. Along with Stafford, 19-year-old Dipanjal Das, 23-year-old Abdul Amin, 25-year-old Ishwar Nayak, and 45-year-old Azizul Hoque lost their lives.

Dipanjal Das was declared as the first martyr of the anti-CAA movement in Assam. He too succumbed to bullet injury.

As per the Citizenship Amendment Act, Indian nationality will be provided to Hindus, Christians, Sikhs, Parsis, Jains, and Buddhists, who fled from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan before December 2014.

Also Read Researchers from IIT-G devises a new method to harvest drinking water from air

Also Watch Tarun Gogoi 'Architect of Modern Assam': Himanta Biswa Sarma on his mentor

Next Story