Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Assam BTC polls result day, live vote counting update - UPPL is leading in 11, BJP in 10 seats

The vote counting for BTC polls 2020 began in ten subdivisional headquarters in the four districts. The results would be declared on Saturday

Assam BTC polls result day: vote counting has started

Sentinel Digital Desk

Guwahati: The Assam Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) elections vote counting has been started today morning at 8 am, to decide the fates of 241 candidates of Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) who contested the polls for the 40 constituencies in the region. The BTC polls results will be declared today (December 12).

LIVE Update: BJP is gaining momentum, but still UPPL leading over BPF, BJP & others

According to the State Election Commission, counting is on in ten subdivisional headquarters in the four districts – Kokrajhar, Gossaigaon, Chirang, Bijni, Tamulpur, Parbatjhora, Bhergaon, Mushalpur, and Udalguri, Salbari.

The Assam Police has put special security measures in place to ensure that no untoward situation arises during the counting of votes. In this case, the Additional Director General of Assam Police, GP Singh is personally overseeing the security situation in BTC.

BTC elections for a total of 40 BTC seats were held in two phases in four districts of Bodoland Territorial Area Districts (BTAD). The first phase of BTC polls for 21 seats was held on December 7 in Baksa & Udalguri districts. And the second phase for a total of 19 constituencies in Chirang and Kokrajhar district took place on December 10.

The second phase polls witnessed 78.8% voters' turnout which is marginally higher than the first phase figure of 77%.

The key contenders of the BTC elections which had a total of 243 candidates in the fray are Bodoland People's Front (BPF), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), United Peoples Party Liberal (UPPL), Congress, and All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF).

While The saffron party is so sure of forming the government in BTC this time the BPF leader is confident enough that BPF would win 16 of the 21 seats in Udalguri and Baksa and another 15 of the 19 seats in Chirang and Kokrajhar.

BPF's Chief Hagrama Mohilary has been ruling the council since its inception in 2003. While BJP contested 26 of the total 40 seats, BPF contested 37 seats. BPF confidents on winning 30 BTC seats, as said by BPF chief.

78 per cent voter turnout was recorded on December 10 for 19 seats in BTC's second and final phase of polling held in Kokrajhar and Chirang districts. While 77.01 per cent of voters turnout was registered during the first phase of voting carried out in Udalguri and Baksa districts.

Also Read: Ajmal Foundation case: AIUDF to take action against Himanta, Pijush

Also Watch: Naba Moran is new president of Moran Students Union

Next Story