Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Assam BTC Polls: Attack on vehicle carrying ballot boxes near Gossaigaon

Ballot boxes and polling officials were attacked by a group of people in Gossaigaon on Thursday night while being brought to the strong room at Habrubil

Attack on Ballot boxes in Gossaigaon, Assam as BTC polls end

Sentinel Digital Desk

Gossaigaon: After BTC election, situation turned violent in Gossaigaon, Kokrajhar district of Assam after an incident of violence took place on Thursday (December 10) night as polling for the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) end. A vehicle carrying ballot boxes along with polling officials were attacked by a group of people at Habrubil on NH-31C. They threw stones over them and damaged the ballot boxes along with the vehicle.

The incident took place at Padmabil area in Gossaigaon around 9 PM while the vehicle was carrying ballot boxes and the polling officials from the No. 11 polling booth of the Kachugaon constituency to the office of the Sub-Divisional Officer, Habrubil.

After the Gossaigaon police reached the spot, they had to fire 25-30 rounds in the air to calm the situation and disperse the huge crowd.

Some miscreants also tried to attack the strong room set up at the Sub-Divisional Officer's office while police arrested a few people.

The Assam State Election Commission might consider re-polling in that particular booth.

Whereas final phase of polling, also witnessed security personnel to open fire to disperse the agitated crowd and control a clash between BPF and UPPL supporters at Duttapur in Chirang district while voting was underway. This happened after Promod Boro, President of United People's Party (Liberal) (UPPL) was attacked by miscreants at Naigaon area of Kokrajhar on December 9. UPPL has filed an FIR regarding the attack on Boro.

However, no injury was reported. Further information are awaited.

The final phase of Bodoland Territorial Council polls for 19 seats recorded a polling percentage of 78.8% which is marginally higher than the first phase figure of 77%.

The voting for the Bodoland Territorial Council began on December 7 for 21 seats in the Udalguri and Baksa districts and polling for the 19 seats were held on December 10 in Kokrajhar and Chirang districts.

The counting of votes is scheduled for December 12, 2020.

The prime contenders of the BTC elections are the BPF and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). BPF has been ruling the council since its inception in 2003.

Also Read: BTC Polls: UPPL – BPF supporters clash in Chirang amid second phase of voting in Chirang; police resort to firing

Also Watch: Digboi's Tai Ahom community pays tribute to Tarun Gogoi

Next Story