Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav observed by Sonitpur district administration

Along with the rest of the country, Sonitpur district administration has organized a three-day programme to mark Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav

Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  15 Aug 2022 6:35 AM GMT


TEZPUR: Along with the rest of the country, Sonitpur district administration has organized a three-day programme to mark Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav, ahead of the 76th Independence Day of the country. As part of the programmes for the first day, a shradhanjali programme was organized and floral tributes were offered at the statue of martyr Kanaklata Baruah at Kanaklata Udyan, Ouguri Hills by the Sonitpur district administration.

Deputy Commissioner Deba Kumar Mishra hoisted the National Flag on the occasion. MLA Tezpur Prithiraj Rava, chairperson, Sonitpur Zilla Parishad, Dolly Surin, Karabi Saikia, CEO, Sonitpur Zilla Parishad, senior district administration officials and Jeevika Sakhis from ASRLM were present during the programme. A pipe band from Assam Rifles also put up a show on the occasion to pay homage to martyr Kanaklata Baruah. Later, a safai abhiyan by Jeevika Sakhis was also carried out.

Later in the evening, a programme was held at Kanaklata Udyan, where prizes were distributed among winners of various competitions held as part of Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav celebrations by DDMA, Zilla Parishad, among school children. DC Deba Kumar Mishra and MLA Tezpur gave away the prizes on the occasion. Also, the brass band from Sashastra Seema Bal (SSB) also put up a performance for all those present.

Moreover, a Self-Help Group under ASRLM from Bihaguri performed a skit titled Desh Bulilei Nalage Adesh while a brief cultural programme by Interact Club of Agnigarh was also staged.

On the other hand, Tezpur Municipal Board has organized 'Amrit Sarovar Mahotsav' with a three-day programme from August 13-August 15, 2022 at Paltan Pukhuri (Lisu Pukhuri) in Tezpur town. On the first day, various programmes were taken up including hoisting of the National Flag, a plantation programme, among others. MLA Tezpur Prithiraj Rava, Deputy Commissioner Deba Kumar Mishra, Chairperson, TMB, Prajnanoo Bhattacharya, EO, TMB, Barsha Talukdar and other ward members were present during the programme.

Earlier in the day, Sonitpur Police administration organised a bike rally through Tezpur town as a part of the ongoing Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav and Har Ghar Tiranga campaign. The rally was flagged off by Superintendent of Police, Sonitpur, Sushanta Biswa Sarma and around 150 bikers from Sonitpur police and personnel from 30Bn CRPF participated in the rally which started at Police Reserve, Tezpur and moved through Poruwa Chariali, Mission Chariali ,Tribeni Point and concluded at Police Reserve, Tezpur.

Also Read: 'Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav' organized at University of Science and Technology Meghalaya (USTM)

Also Watch:

Next Story