Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP Denies Ticket to Shiladitya Dev; Party Fields Ramkrishna Ghosh from Hojai

The Bhartiya Janata Party BJP today released a list of three candidates for Assam Assembly elections.

MLA Shiladitya Dev

Sentinel Digital Desk

GUWAHATI: The Bhartiya Janata Party BJP today released a list of three candidates for Assam Assembly elections, as per the list, Milan Das has been named as the party candidate to contest from Hailakandi constituency, Paramananda Rajbanshi will contest from Sipajhar while Ramakrishna Ghosh will be contesting from Hojai.

Speculations were at the rift in terms of the Hojai constituency, as sitting Hojai MLA Shiladitya Dev was not named in the first list of the BJP candidates. Clearing the air, the BJP today named party spokesperson Ramkrishna Ghosh as its candidate for the Hojai constituency.

Earlier when the party declared the first list of 70 candidates, Hojai constituency was missing. Dev, who was also uncertain of getting the party ticket, said he would continue to fight the battle on his own. Expressing his misery on social media he said, "Jodi Tor Dak Shune Keu Na Ase Tobe Ekla Cholo Re (If no one responds to your call, then go your own way alone)," after his name did not appear on the first list.

Jodi tor dak sune keu na ashe Tobe Ekla Chalo Re... The struggle is on...

Posted by Shiladitya Dev on Thursday, 4 March 2021

Known as one of the controversial politicians of the state, he won from the Hojai constituency in the last assembly elections in 2016 with more than 54 per cent votes.

After the announcement of the latest list, Dev took to Facebook to inform that he has been kicked out from the party.

Finally I have been kicked out from BJP.

Posted by Shiladitya Dev on Tuesday, 9 March 2021

Meanwhile, former Assam Sahitya Sabha President Paramananda Rajbongshi who has quit the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and has joined the BJP has been confirmed the Sipajhar ticket for the ensuing elections. After joining the BJP, last week Rajbongshi said, "I have joined the BJP keeping for the interests of the people. I will work as advised by the party."

The BJP announced the first list of 70 candidates for the ensuing polls on March 5. The saffron party has denied tickets to 11 sitting MLAs, including a minister in the first list of candidates.

Polling for 47 of Assam's 126 Assembly constituencies will be conducted in the first phase on March 27.

Also Read: Myanmar Nun pleads with Forces to spare Children and Kill her instead

Also Watch: Akhil Gogoi filed for Nomination from GMCH

Next Story