Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP retains Mangaldai seat for the fourth consecutive term with the victory of Dilip Saikia

BJP retains Mangaldai seat for the fourth consecutive term with the victory of Dilip Saikia

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  24 May 2019 2:42 AM GMT

Our Correspondent

Mangaldai: Ruling BJP has managed to retain the No 8 Mangaldai Lok Sabha for the fourth consecutive time when Dilip Saikia, the candidate for the saffron party and its alliance partners AGP and BPF has defeated his nearest rival and Congress candidate Bhubaneswar Kalita by a margin of more than one lakh votes even though official announcement of result of the counting of votes is yet to be made till filing of this report late in the evening.

The winner Dilip Saikia got the lead in as many as eight assembly segments viz Nalbari, Rangiya, Kamalpur, Panery, Udalguri, Mazbat, Kalaigaon and Sipajhar out of the ten assembly segments scattered in four different districts.

He bagged nearly fifty per cent of the total votes counted. However, in the remaining Mangaldai and Dalgaon LACs in Darrang district, Congress Candidate Bhubaneswar Kalita expectedly took the lead. In the three LAC segments in Udalguri district, Dilip Saikia took a lead of nearly one lakh four thousand.

Similarly, the margin of votes in Kalaigaon and Sipajhar LAC has also increased recording a difference of more than 32 thousand and 19 thousand respectively. Talking to media just before final announcement of result, Dilip Saikia first thanked the people of the Lok Sabha constituency for electing him from the prestigious seat with a convincing margin and assured the people to play an active role in the parliament.

Meanwhile, the leaders, workers and supporters of the ruling party celebrated the victory dancing, singing, bursting firecrackers and taking out victory rally in Mangaldai town.

Also read: Assam news

Next Story