Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJSM opposes inclusion of MP Naba Sarania in Delimitation Commission

Bodoland Janajati Suraksha Manch (BJSM) on Friday strongly opposed the appointment of Kokrajhar MP Naba Kr. Sarania

Naba Sarania

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  6 Jun 2020 6:02 AM GMT


KOKRAJHAR: Bodoland Janajati Suraksha Manch (BJSM) on Friday strongly opposed the appointment of Kokrajhar MP Naba Kr. Sarania as member in Delimitation Commission for Assam as one of the MPs of ST reserve constituency in the plains of Assam.

BJSM president Janaklal Basumatary in a statement raised objection of his appointment as he did not belong to Borokachari ST notified community as he claimed, so he will not represent the tribal political interest in this crucial time of Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies of Assam. "As he is not ST, he will represent the Non Boro-Non ST communities as he has already formed OBoro Gana Suraksha Party, and BTC Sena to fight against the tribal rights in BTC 6 th Schedule tribal area administration for benefit of non tribal people extra constitutionally," he said adding that he will not definitely represent tribal cause in the delimitation proceeding.

Delimitation Commission has already drawn a draft proposal of delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies of Assam in 2007. He said it was kept in abeyance implementation due to court cases in Manipur and Jharkhand and in the mean time the then Delimitation Commission expired.

"Now the new Delimitation Commission is appointed. They have published the draft proposal of delimitation of 2007 and called any objection and suggestions from interested corner," he said adding that it has come to notice that the number of MP is retained 14, and the number of MLA retained 126. The ST reservation of MP retained 2, Plains 1, Hills 1 and the LAC ST reservation raised from 14 to 19. He said this was not justified as there is significant change of political and administrative structure in Assam with creation of 6th scheduled BTC tribal area administration in 2003.

He also said as entitled for 6th Schedule BTC autonomous council administration with four newly created districts they have provided two Parliamentary constituencies for BTC, with 14 LACs. But both the proposed parliamentary constituencies Kokrajhar and Udalguri are made unreserved general constituencies. This is because they have retained the two ST reservation for HPC in Assam without paying regard to the newly created BTC autonomous council entitled two ST reserve HPC, he said adding that the lone Kokrajhar ST reserve HPC shifted to Lakhimpur ST reserve HPC in plains of Assam.

Also Watch: #NewsMakers Live: K Elu Ndang, Gen Secy, Naga Hoho, Nagaland in an exclusive chat with Oineetom Ojah

Next Story