Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Campus Violence Leads to Expulsion of 3 DU Students

Two ex-students also face prohibitions as per university rules.

Campus Violence Leads to Expulsion of 3 DU Students

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  20 Nov 2022 5:29 AM GMT

DIBRUGARH: Three students of the Dibrugarh University of Assam were expelled from the institution with regards to the incident that took place a few days back.

According to reports, a few current students of the Dibrugarh University along with a few old students who had already completed their course assaulted the security personnel on duty in the campus. The incident triggered the administration to call for a meeting to decide the course of action and punishment to be administered to the culprits.

To that end, a meeting of the Disciplinary Action Committee (DAC) was called last Thursday, November 17. And as per the existing guidelines of the university, the three current students were expelled from the courses that they were enrolled in. And they were also prohibited from entering the campus of Dibrugarh University at any time in the future.

"In pursuance of the recommendations of Disciplinary Action Committee (DAC) in its meeting held on 17 November 2022 (Thursday) and considering the Clause 13 (xii) of Dibrugarh University Students' Conduct and Discipline Rules, the following students and boarders of this University are hereby disqualified from pursuing further studies and prohibited from further admission or re-admission in the University with immediate effect for having been found to be involved in committing grave misconduct and acts of indiscipline within the meaning of Clause (5) of Dibrugarh University Students' Conduct and Discipline Rules. Considering the same they shall cease to be students of Dibrugarh University forthwith." read the official order issued by the university authorities.

The names of the three students are Labdhu Pratim Das (3rd Semester in the Department of Assamese), Hemanga Bhuyan ( 1st Semester of MBA in Centre of Management Studies) and Ankur Hatibaruah (1st Semester in Centre of Tea and Agro Studies).

The Committee also said that in addition to the above mentioned students, two past students of the institution, namely Devid Hazarika and Rubul Bora have also been prohibited entry to the campus. None of these four will be allowed to enroll in any course of Dibrugarh University in future.

Also Read: Himanta Biswa Sarma Brings Up Delhi Murderer Aftab Poonawala at Kutch Poll Rally

Also Watch:

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News