Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Darrang records around 78.83 % turnout, polls peaceful

A pleasant sunny and fair weather followed by the overnight downpour on Wednesday


Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  2 April 2021 3:54 AM GMT


MANGALDAI: A pleasant sunny and fair weather followed by the overnight downpour on Wednesday night paved the way for the peaceful election by and large in Darrang district which added more enthusiasm and zeal among the general electorates, particularly among the young generation.

In the second phase of poll on Thursday, the estimated overall turn out of voters in Darrang district is 78.83 per cent, of which 65 Kalaigaon LAC recorded 77.8 per cent while 77.1 per cent was recorded in 66 Sipajhar LAC, 78 per cent in 67 Mangaldai (SC) LAC and 81.7 per cent in 68 Dalgaon LAC till Thursday evening. The election passed off peacefully without reporting of any major untoward incident or violation of ECI guidelines.

Darrang Deputy Commissioner-cum-District Election Officer Dilip Kumar Borah in this election became the first Deputy Commissioner of the district to exercise his democratic right in the district. Accompanied by his wife Swapnali Das, the Deputy Commissioner took part in the largest democracy of the world at the Model Polling Station at Mangaldai Girls' HS School. His son Hitartha Borah and daughter Priyangana Borah also exercised their democratic right that too, for the first time as new voters.

Election Observer (Expenditure) Harsha Vardhan Umre also accompanied the Deputy Commissioner Dilip Kumar Borah and his family members during casting of their votes. Significantly, Deputy Commissioner Borah like a common voter was seen standing in the queue to wait for his turn. Media person Bhargab Kumar Das and Mayukh Goswami earlier extended a welcome to the Deputy Commissioner and his family members with phulam Bihuwan.

In this election prominent candidates are former minister Durga Das Boro of Bodoland People's Front (BPF) in 65 Kalaigaon LAC, former president of Axam Xahitya Xabha Dr. Paramananda Rajbongshi of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Kuldip Barua of Congress in 66 Sipajhar LAC, former minister Basanta Das of Congress and sitting legislator Guru Jyoti Das of BJP in 67 Mangaldai (SC) LAC and sitting legislator Illias Ali of Congress and three-time defeated AIUDF candidate Mazibar Rahman in 68 Dalgaon LAC.

Also Read: 221 centenarians and 11,447 young voters to take part in second phase poll in Darrang

Also watch: ASSAM Votes 2021: Hojai constituency sitting MLA Shiladitya Dev Casts Vote

Next Story