Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

DEO holds meeting with contesting candidates in Chirang

“As no candidature has been withdrawn till the last day for withdrawal of nomination, the names of Chandan Brahma from the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF)


Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  24 March 2021 4:56 AM GMT


BONGAIGAON/KOKRAJHAR: "As no candidature has been withdrawn till the last day for withdrawal of nomination, the names of Chandan Brahma from the Bodoland People's Front (BPF), Joyanta Basumatary from the United People's Party Liberal (UPPL), Ranjay Kumar Brahma from the Janata Dal- United (JD-U) and Jisoya Basumatary and Smriti Basumatary as independent candidates have been listed in the final list of contesting candidates for 31- Sidli (ST) Legislative Assembly Constituency ( LAC) in Chirang election district." This was informed by the Deputy Commissioner and District Election Officer, Chirang, GautamTalukdar while conducting a meeting with all contesting candidates of 31- Sidli (ST) LAC in the presence of General Observer Ajay Yadav and Expenditure Observer V. Ramanadha Reddy for the ensuing Assembly election in the district at the conference hall of the Deputy Commissioner's office at Kajalgaon on Monday evening.

During the meeting, Deputy Commissioner and District Election Officer Talukdar updated the candidates and their election agents about the Election Commission of India (ECI) guidelines. He also briefed about the provisions of the Representation of Peoples Act, 1951, Model Code of Conduct and other poll related matters.

Drawing attention of the contesting candidates, he also said, "No candidate or political party will be able to conduct any campaign meetings or rallies without permission and not at any place except 40 identified playgrounds of the district." He also requested the candidates not to give inflammatory speech and to avoid making statements which would create disharmony between different sections of society on ground of religion, caste, creed and community. He informed that permission for holding meetings and rallies would be given only online, so the political parties and candidates have to apply for the same by using SUVIDHA online portal only. He also laid stress on the use of cVIGIL for lodging any complaints and grievances against the violation of Model Code of Conduct and expenditure related issues to take advantage of the public grievance redressal system for quick response.

The General observer and Expenditure Observer also asked the contesting candidates and their representatives to properly maintain their election accounts and to follow the Model Code of Conduct provisions as per guidelines of the ECI. During the meeting, General Observer Ajay Yadav launched two mascots named 'Manas' and 'Gaurang' to inspire the public for voting under SVEEP campaign Later, the Deputy Commissioner-cum-District Election Officer, General Observer and Expenditure Observer interacted with the media persons on various issues pertaining to conduct of assembly election in the district.

Also Read: BJP is a party of false promises: BPF leader Ganesh Kasari

Also Watch: Suren Phukan's bike rally receives massive support at Digboi

Next Story