"New era of rail communication": Rajdhani Special Train to run between Dibrugarh & New Delhi from today

The Rajdhani Express will start its journey from Dibrugarh at 10:00 pm and arrive in New Delhi at 1:55 pm after a 38-hour long journey
Image for representation

Image for representation

Dibrugarh: The first of two bi-weekly Rajdhani Express trains connecting Dibrugarh (Assam) and New Delhi shall begin operating from today (October 12). The launching of this service, which has been a long-cherished dream of the people of North Assam, has been hailed "a new era of rail communication" by the Chief Minister of the State, Sarbananda Sonowal.

"A new era of rail communication begins as the bi-weekly Rajdhani Express, connecting the region with New Delhi, will start its journey through Bogibeel bridge from today. My gratitude to PM Shri @narendramodi Ji & Shri @PiyushGoyal Ji for strengthening the #NE rail network," Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal wrote in a tweet.

Earlier, the Union Railway Ministry had announced the running of two bi-weekly special Rajdhani trains between Dibrugarh in Upper Assam and the national capital New Delhi. The first train bearing number 02505 began operating today.

The Rajdhani Express train will cross over the Bogibeel Bridge and for the first time, halt at some north bank stations like North Lakhimpur, Harmuti, and Rangapara. The other train bearing number 02506 will start operating from 15th October. It will run in the opposite direction -- from New Delhi to Dibrugarh.

Train number 02505 will run on Mondays and Fridays, leaving Dibrugarh at 10 pm. And the other train will operate on Thursdays and Sundays.

The office of the General Manager (Operation), Northeast Frontier Railway notified the running of this Rajdhani Special Train between Dibrugarh and New Delhi on October 8 under the reference of Railway Board message issued vide No. 2020/CHG/33/7/PT dated October 7.

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam