Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

No impact of anti-incumbency in rural polls

No impact of anti-incumbency in rural polls

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  14 Dec 2018 9:34 AM GMT

A Correspondent

Joysagar: The second-day vote counting conducted in Sivasagar Government Higher Secondary School concluded in a peaceful manner on Thursday. The ruling BJP was successful in wooing voters in rural areas of Sivasagar and Charaideo districts where there was strong presence of the Congress and the AGP earlier. The left party dominated subdivisions like Nazira and Simaluguri and Lakwa was occupied by the Congress and the BJP but the CPI had to remain content with only one ward commissioner’s seat.

The day two results reflected that out of 620 GP member seats, the BJP won in 206 seats, the Congress in 153 seats and the AGP got 78 seats. Similarly, in GP president seats, the BJP occupied 18 seats, Congress 14 and the AGP 7 seats. For the post of anchalik panchayat member, the BJP won in 20 seats, the Congress in 12 and the AGP in 7 seats only.

Zila Parishads like Abhaipur, Sapekhati, Baruahchali, Sonari, Mahmora, Rangali and Charaideo were won by the ruling BJP while the Lakwa Zila Parishad was occupied by the Congress. BJP district spokesperson D. Mohan said that many burning issues in the State did not hamper the party and voters only focused on development.

Also read: Assam news

Next Story