Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Saffron surge in Silchar, Karimganj with the victory of BJP candidates

Saffron surge in Silchar, Karimganj with the victory of BJP candidates

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  24 May 2019 4:00 AM GMT

It’s Dr Rajdeep Roy in Silchar, Kripanath Mallah in Karimganj

Our Correspondent

Silchar: Till the filing of this report, Dr Rajdeep Roy, BJP’s Silchar Lok Sabha constituency candidate, is on the verge of defeating Sushmita Dev, Congress’ Silchar Lok Sabha constituency candidate and All India Mahila Congress. He is ahead by a huge margin of around 82,755 votes. Assam’s Deputy Speaker and BJP’s Karimganj Lok Sabha constituency candidate Kripanath Mallah too is on the threshold of emerging triumphant by defeating Radheshyam Biswas of AIUDF by a margin of around 17,000 votes. VVPAT counting is still going on and the official declaration is yet to be made.

Dr Rajdeep Roy tweeted, “I dedicate my victory to all the people of Silchar, our party Karyakartas, district leadership. I am grateful to @sarbanandsonwal ji, @himantabiswa ji and Sh. Ranjeet Das ji for all their support that I received in the run up to election.” Prior to that, he also tweeted “My sincere gratitude and respect to all who have voted for BJP in Silchar constituency. This is a victory for your faith in the development initiatives under @narendramodi ji. I thank our party President @AmitShah ji for an amicable leadership during the election. #BharatMataKiJai.” It is worth mentioning here that Dr Rajdeep Roy is the son of the legendary Bimolangshu Roy, former MLA, who served in the Assam State Legislative Assembly representing the Silchar Vidhan Sabha constituency from 1996 to 2006. Sushmita Dev is the daughter of the former union minister late Sontosh Mohan Dev.

In Silchar, a total number of 13 candidates contested being in a direct contest with Rajdeep Roy. Silchar Lok Sabha constituency comprises six assembly segments, Silchar, Dholai (SC), Sonai, Udharbond, Lakhipur, Barkhola and Katigorah. It is pertinent to mention here that it is after 2 decades that the saffron party has won the Karimganj seat. In the last Lok Sabha elections, the Silchar Lok Sabha seat was won by Sushmita Dev by a margin of 35,241 votes. She defeated BJP candidate Kabindra Purkayastha.

Also read: Cachar news

Next Story