Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Section 144 Cr.PC clamped in Hailakandi

Section 144 Cr.PC clamped in Hailakandi

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  12 Dec 2018 10:14 AM GMT

A Correspondent

Hailakandi: Apprehending breach of peace and tranquillity, the Hailakandi district administration has clamped Section 144 Cr.PC with immediate effect. An order to this effect was issued by District Magistrate, Adil Khan on Monday.

The order that will remain in force till Saturday prohibits assembly of five or more persons or indulging in any activity that may disturb public peace and tranquillity in view of counting of votes of panchayat election. It also bans carrying of arms or weapons, use of fire crackers, holding of rallies or dharna in any public place, inflammatory speeches and use of loud speaker. The prohibitory order, however, exempts police and security personnel from carrying weapons and holding of government meetings and other official programmes.

Meanwhile, repolling has been conducted at two polling booths at Duttapur LP School under 25/08 Gharmurah-Jamira ZPC. Overall 62% voter turnout has been recorded – 65% at polling station No.3 and 59% at 3 Ka. Fresh poll was ordered by the EC on the ground of mismatch in ballot papers of gaon panchayat ward members under Gharmurah-Baghcherra Gaon Panchayat constituency. The district administration has completed all necessary arrangements for counting of votes at the Government VMHS School in Hailakandi town from 8 am on Wednesday. CCTVs have been installed in all the 11 counting halls. 10 tables have been placed in each counting hall for every 11 Zila Parishad Constituency manned by 30 counting supervisors and assistants. A control room has been set up with separate cell for doctors and paramedics, personnel, security, media persons and for polling personnel for smooth conduct of the counting process.

A total of 3,220 candidates are in the fray – 80 for 11 ZPM, 345 for 62 GPP, 335 for 62 APM and 2,460 for 620 GPM. 31 GP members were elected unopposed. An order issued by in-charge MCC and Expenditure Monitoring Cell, ADC Amalendu Roy on Tuesday, asked all the contesting candidates of ZPM, APM, GPP and GPM to submit in prescribed format election expenditure account with vouchers within 60 days from the date of declaration of results to the cell that will continue to function up to February 11, 2019.

Also Read: Section 144 imposed in Golaghat

Next Story