Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Tributes Paid to Bharat Ratna Dr. Bhupen Hazarika

Tributes Paid to Bharat Ratna Dr. Bhupen Hazarika

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  11 Aug 2019 9:02 AM GMT

A Correspondent

SILCHAR: Rich tributes were paid to Bharat Ratna Dr. Bhupen Hazarika by the Cachar district administration on Friday at the office of the Deputy Commissioner of Cachar. Cachar DC Laya Madduri along with other officials of the administration and members from the civil society, political parties and large number of students offered floral tributes at the portrait of Dr. Hazarika. Songs sung by Dr Bhupen Hazarika were played all through the day as the ceremony was kept open for people to come and pay their respects to the music maestro. Laya Madduri recalled the phenomenal contribution made by Dr Hazarika to music. Among others present included Dulal Mitra, Mridul Majumder, Haran Dey and Taimur Raja Choudhury.

Former President Pranab Mukherjeee on Thursday received the Bharat Ratna — the highest civilian award in the country — which was also conferred to late iconic singer-composer Dr Bhupen Hazarika and late social activist Nanaji Deshmukh. Dr. Hazarika’s son, Tez Hazarika received the award on his behalf while Mukherjee received it himself and Deshmukh’s family members received the honour from President Ram Nath Kovind at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhavan. (IANS)

Hazarika had earned widespread recognition in the national and international platforms for his magnanimous personality and amazing musical traits. He was not only a great singer but a universal composer and lyricist as well. The songs were written and sang by him decades ago are still going fresh and relevant in the modern age and this proves the universality of the artist.

Bestowed with several national and international honours, Bhupen Hazarika had won the Dada Saheb Phalke Award in 1992. A host of other awards won by the singer are National Film Award for Best Music Direction in 1975, Sangeet Natak Akademi Award in 1987, Padmashri in 1977, and Padmabhushan in 2001. He was also awarded the Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship in 2008.

Also Read: Late Iconic Singer Dr Bhupen Hazarika Awarded Bharat Ratna

Also Watch: South Salmara-Mankachar police on alert for I-Day

Next Story