Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Jogen Mohan of Mahmora, Sanjoy Kishan of Tinsukia inducted in Assam's Council of Ministers

Jogen Mohan of Mahmora, Sanjoy Kishan of Tinsukia inducted in Assams Council of Ministers

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  18 Jan 2020 6:46 AM GMT

GUWAHATI: Sanjoy Kishan, MLA from Tinsukia and Jogen Mohan, MLA from Mahmora were sworn in as ministers on Saturday at Raj Bhawan in Guwahati.

Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Finance & Health Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Chandra Mohan Patowary, Culture Minister Naba Kumar Doley, BJP president Ranjeet Dass and MPs Queen Oja and Kamakhya Prasad Tasa along with others were present during the event.

Kishan belongs to the tea tribe community and Mohan comes from the Ahom community.

The induction of the ministers happened to fill up posts that went vacant after Topon Kumar Gogoi and Pallab Lochan Das won the Lok Sabha elections last year.

The state ministry now comprises 18 ministers out of which 12 are from the BJP and three each from Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodo People's Front.

" Heartfelt wishes and congratulations to Shri Jogen Mohan and Shri Sanjoy Kisan on being inducted in Assam's Council of Ministers. We will work together with the spirit of #TeamAssam and take our state to greater heights of progress and development," tweeted Sarbananda Sonowal, Chief Minister of Assam.

Also Read: Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik asks officials to treat people with dignity

Also Watch: Assam Police lathi charges supporters of All Bodoland Minority Students Union

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News