Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

All Assam Olympic Association Posts Elected Unopposed

All Assam Olympic Association Posts Elected Unopposed

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  1 Nov 2019 12:28 PM GMT

Our Sports Reporter

GUWAHATI: Putting all speculations to rest, all the 22 posts of the office-bearers of the Assam Olympic Association executive committee have been elected unopposed. Altogether 68 candidates projected them as candidates to contest for the posts of the Assam Olympic Association (AOA). However, there was mass withdrawal of nomination papers yesterday, leaving as many number of candidates in the fray exactly as the number of posts to be filled.

Returning officer Bijon Mahajan today announced the list of newly elected members of the AOA who will be in the office for the next four years. He said, “All the office-bearers are elected unopposed as no post is left for contest after the withdrawal of nominations.”

The formal announcement of the new committee will be made during the Annual General Meeting of the AOA which is scheduled to be held in the city on November 10.

It was confirmed that Sarbananda Sonowal, the Chief Minister of Assam, will be the new president of the association once the submission of nomination papers is over. He was the lone candidate for the post. However, 28 candidates submitted nomination papers for the 10 posts of the Vice Presidents and 18 of them later withdrew it. The story was same for the other posts also. Seven candidates were in fray for the secretary post and six of them later pulled out their names. On the other hand, for the posts of Treasurer (1 post), Joint Secretary (4 posts) and Assistant Secretary (5 posts) five, 13 and 14 candidates earlier came forward to contest but later changed their mind.

New committee of AOA:

President: Sarbananda Sonowal. Vice President: Atul Bora, Hagrama Mohilary, Jayanta Boro, Murali Dhar Chowdhury, Pijush Hazarika, Ranee Narah, Raj Kakati, Ritu Baran Sarmah, Siddhartha Bhattacharya and Tuliram Ronghang.

Secretary: Lakhya Konwar.

Treasurer: Tapan Kumar Das.

Joint Secretary: Amal Narayan Patowary, Sanjib Handique, Shantanu Kalita, Taranga Gogoi.

Assistant Secretary: Arun Jyoti Moran, Arup Kumar Thakuria, Bhabajyoti Goswami, Tapan Das and Niranjan Saikia.

Also Read: New Twist in Assam Olympic Association Forthcoming Election

Also Watch: BTAD Army Football League 2019-2020

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News