Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Lok Sabha polls: Race for party tickets hots up in Manipur

Lok Sabha polls: Race for party tickets hots up in Manipur

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  13 March 2019 5:03 AM GMT

Imphal: Several politicians and retired government officials in Manipur are in the race for tickets for the Lok Sabha polls.

Of the two Lok Sabha seats in the State, one is reserved for Scheduled Tribes.

Moirangthem Nara of the Communist Party of India (CPI) is the only party candidate whose name was officially announced for the general Outer Manipur constituency. His name was finalised by the Left parties in the State.

The Congress had won both the Lok Sabha seats in the 2014 elections.

Meanwhile, delegates of the Manipur Democratic Alliance (MDA) formed by some non-Congress parties few weeks ago, rushed to Delhi on Monday.

The team leader is M Tombi, president of the Manipur unit of Shiv Sena.

Former Chief Minister Radhbinod Koijam is seeking the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ticket, while Oinam Nabakishore, a retired chief secretary of Manipur is one of the applicants of the Congress ticket.

Meanwhile, there are ripples among the BJP coalition partners as it has announced to field candidates in both seats. (IANS)

Also read: Manipur news

Next Story