Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Manipur Congress Announces Two new Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls

Manipur Congress Announces Two new Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  25 March 2019 11:50 AM GMT

Guwahati: The Congress in Manipur has announced two new candidates to retain the two seats- Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls by dropping both its sitting MPs.

On Saturday night the All India Congress Committee officially released the name of O Nabakishore and K James. Nabakishore was the former Chief Secretary of the state while James was a government employee who turned as an entrepreneur.

Both the candidates were selected for a party ticket out of the 16 applicants which also includes one sitting MP Dr. Thokchom Meinya.

However, Thangso Baite, sitting MP of Outer Manipur didn't apply for a party ticket this time which is a reserved seat for Scheduled Tribes.

While speaking to media on Sunday, James said that he would love to take up the issues of the weaker sections in the state which is one of his priorities adding that his main concern is to uplift the weaker sections.

On the other hand, Nabakishore said that he will take up issues of reformation in education and development of horticulture and trade as his priorities.

Former MLA, Ng Bijoy along with four other former MLAs of Congress joined the regional party North East Indian Development Party (NEIDP) few days back. Bijoy seeks ticket from Congress for the Inner Manipur seat but after its refusal, he decided to join the regional party. On the other hand, the NEIDP named former MLA RK Anand from Imphal West District and Ashang Kasar of Kamjong districts as their candidates for Inner and Outer Manipur constituencies respectively.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had announced party's state unit spokesperson Dr. RK Ranjan and party's state unit Vice-President H Shokhopao alias Benjamin Mate as their candidates for the two seats of Inner and Outer Manipur.

Moreover, Communist Party of India had named Dr. M Nara as its candidates for Inner Manipur seats and National Peoples' Party which is one of the oldest regional political party in Eastern India named its President O Jugindro as their candidate for Inner Manipur seats while his colleague Laikham Kaipu from Chandel district will contest from Outer Manipur seat.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister of Meghalaya and Nation President of NPP, Conrad K Sangma visited the state of Manipur on Friday and launched election campaign for his party's candidate Thangminlien Kipgen, a former minister from Kangpokpi district for the outer Manipur constituency.


Next Story