Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Manipur: Eight Journalist conferred with the 'Manipur State Journalists Award'

Manipur: Eight Journalist conferred with the Manipur State Journalists Award

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  17 Nov 2018 12:32 PM GMT

Guwahati: On the occasion of National Press Day, eight media persons including an editor of a vernacular daily in eight different categories were conferred with the Manipur State Journalists Award. The award which carries a citation, scarf and a cash award of Rs 25,000 each were presented during the National Press Day celebrations at the banquet hall of 1stbattalion Manipur Rifles in Imphal on Friday. The award was sponsored by Directorate of Information and Public Relations (IPR), Government of Manipur.

The award winning media persons are Ratneshowri Goswami (Sports Reporting), Bijoy Laishram(Public Health & Hygiene), Puyam Romeshwar (Parliamentary Reporting) Ashem Babycha ( Women & Children), Naorem Gyanand(Art & Culture)-all from Hueiyen Lampao daily Kshetri Meghajit ( Science & Technology) of Naharolgi Thoudang daily, Sagolsem Bigyan(Rural Reporting) and Editor Aribam Robindro Sharma(National Integration & Communal Harmony) both from Poknaphamdaily.

Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh along with consumers’ affairs food and public distribution minister Karam Shyam and Director Heisnam Balkrishna of IPR attended the ceremony.

Speaking on the occasion Chief Minister N.Biren Singh appealed the journalist fraternity to feel free in criticizing to the work programme of policy of the government. He, however, said that his government will not tolerate humiliation that may sabotage the career of an individual.

"Our government has no problem in criticism, we will give reply if needed and we will not tolerate humiliation", the CM said. it may be mentioned that N Biren Singh was himself a Journalist before he joined active politics.

Praising state’s media for doing good work in a mature way, he said the public should be aware about restrictions and censorship in every aspect including social media.

The CM also announced that working journalist will now be able to get the cards of the Chief Minister gi Hakshel Tengbang (CMHT). However, he confirmed that those already covered under the Prime Ministers' assistance will not be included in the scheme.

Addressing the gathering, Revenue Minister Karam Shyam appealed to the media fraternity to be neutral, unbiased and fair while reporting the news. A workshop on ‘Journalism Ethics and Challenges in Digital Era’ was organized with Editor Pradip Phanjoubam of Imphal Free Press as the moderator.

Joint Director IPR W Phajatombi Devi, officers & staff of DIPR, eminent media persons and students of State Institute of Journalism and Mass Communication, Manipur University attended the function.

Later after the function of a workshop on the topic " Journalism Ethics and Challenges in Digital era " was held

Also Read: Manipur to Implement Zero Budget Natural Farming in the State

Next Story