Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Mega Marathon Organised in Manipur

Mega Marathon Organised in Manipur

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  5 Nov 2018 11:10 AM GMT

Guwahati: A Mega Marathon was organised by the United Peoples Front (UPF), Manipur under Athletic Association of Manipur on Sunday. More than 3000 runners ran in the Marathon. The 21.5 km long marathon which was taken part by young and old was also joined by 170 runners coming from outside the state.

The Marathon which was flagged off by minister of forest and environment Th. Shyamkumar in front of Khuman Lampak Hockey Stadium passed through Dingku road, Chingmeirong, Assembly road, Khoyathong road, Nagamapal road, RIMS road, Uripok road, Naoremthong Tera, Kwakeithel, Pishumthong road, Chingamathak, Kongba, Ayangpalli, Porompat crossing, JNIMS road, Lamlong bridge and concluded with one round of the running track at Khuman Lampak main stadium.

Speaking to media persons, president of UPF, W. Second, said, that UPF have been organising the Marathon since 2007 with the motive to help the youths in abstaining from drugs and to make a healthy Manipur, and it is not related with any sporting discipline.

Adding that many youths of the state are addicted to drugs and around one lakh people are infected with HIV, Second further said that the time has come to save the future pillar of the state because there is a possibility of extinction of the future generation.

He further appreciated the people of Manipur for extending their support to UPF for successfully organising the Marathon.

Shankarman Thapa from 58 GTC Happy Valley, Shillong wearing chest number 4014 came first in the Men’s category by completing the marathon in 1 hour 3 minutes and 6 seconds followed by L.R. Lulher, chest No 2694 from Senapati district with a timing of 1 hour 4 minutes and 3 seconds while Khaidem Roshan from Tera Khongsangbi came third completing the marathon in 1 hour 5 minutes and 37 seconds.

In the Women’s category, Nongthombam Chaoba, chest no. 451 of Luwangsangbam, with a timing of 1 hour 24 minutes and 47 seconds came first followed by, Tayengjam Russia of Ngairangbam, with a timing of 1 hour 25 minutes 41 seconds and completing the Marathon in 1 hour 26 minutes 34 seconds Sagolsem Premila of Yairipok Kekru stood third.

The prize distribution ceremony was held at Khuman Lampak main stadium. Speaker of Manipur Legislative Assembly, Yumnam Khemchand was present on the occasion as Chief Guest.

The winners in the Marathon were rewarded with cash prize of Rs.40,000, Rs.30,000 and Rs.20,000 respectively. Also, consolation prize of Rs 3000 each was awarded to 13 participants from each category.

Also Read: Manipuri dance troupe takes part in International Festival

Next Story