Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

A Day After Reduction In Disqualification Period, Sikkim CM P.S. Golay Files Nomination

A Day After Reduction In Disqualification Period, Sikkim CM P.S. Golay Files Nomination

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  2 Oct 2019 12:59 PM GMT

A day after the Election Commission reduced Sikkim Chief Minister P.S. Golay's disqualification period by nearly 5 years, the SKM president on Monday filed his nomination paper for an Assembly seat by-poll to prevail on October 21 as Monday is that the Last day to submit nomination papers.

CM P.S. Golay, who isn't a member of the Sikkim Assembly at present, submitted his papers as the SKM candidate from Poklok Kamrang seat in South Sikkim, District Magistrate- cum-Returning Officer Ragul K aforementioned.

Golay is among the candidates for 3 assembly seats in Sikkim which goes to by-polls on October 21.

The BJP, that player a blank within the Sikkim Assembly elections earlier this year, had on Saturday proclaimed that it has tied up with the ruling SKM within the state for the October by-polls to three Assembly seats.

The Election Commission of India on Sunday reduced Chief Minister's disqualification period by nearly 5 years underneath a provision of the electoral law, paving the way for him to contest the state assembly elections.

His disqualification period of six years, throughout which he was barred from contesting polls, began on August 10, 2018 -- the day he completed a year's jail term in an exceedingly corruption case. It was to end on August 10, 2024. But the ECI reduced it to at least one year and one month.

Golay, whose Sikkim Krantikari Morcha Party (SKM) won the state Assembly elections command in April, took over as the chief minister on May 27. However, he couldn't contest the elections due to the disqualification.

He has to contest assembly polls within six months of becoming the chief minister to hold the office.

CM was found guilty of misappropriation of presidency funds in a cow distribution scheme whereas he was the minister of animal husbandry in the 1990s.

The by-polls were necessitated as former chief minister Pawan Kumar Chamling (SDF), legislators D T Lepcha (earlier with SDF and currently in BJP) and Kunga NIMA Lepcha (SKM) had vacated Poklok Kamrang, Martam Rumtek and Gangtok seats severally when winning from 2 seats each.

According to the SKM-BJP tie-up, the saffron party can contest from Gangtok and Martam-Rumtek, whereas the ruling party can field its candidate from Poklok-Kamrang.

Also Watch: Batadrava MLA Angoorlata Deka appeals for boycott of single-use plastic in State

Next Story